Comprehensive Plan


In 1999 the Wisconsin Legislature enacted a comprehensive planning law, set forth in Section 66.1001 of the Wisconsin Statutes. The requirements supplement earlier provisions in the Statutes for the preparation of county development plans (Section 59.69(3) of the Statutes) and local master plans (Section 62.23 of the Statutes). The requirements, which are often referred to as the “Smart Growth” law, provide a new framework for the development, adoption, and implementation of comprehensive plans in Wisconsin. The law includes a “consistency” requirement, whereby zoning, subdivision, and official mapping ordinances adopted and enforced by towns, villages, and cities must be consistent with the comprehensive plan adopted by the town board, village board, or common council, respectively. Zoning and subdivision ordinances adopted and enforced by a county, including shoreland zoning ordinances, must be consistent with the comprehensive plan adopted by the county board. The consistency requirement will take effect on January 1, 2010.

To address the State comprehensive planning requirements, a multi-jurisdictional comprehensive planning process was undertaken by Washington County; 11 local government partners, including the Town of Kewaskum; UW-Extension; and the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission (SEWRPC). The 11 local government partners are shown on Map 1.

As a result of the multi-jurisdictional process, comprehensive plans that satisfy the planning requirements set forth in Section 66.1001 of the Statutes have been developed for the County and each local government partner. The comprehensive plan for the Town of Kewaskum is documented in this report.

Although not all local governments partnered with Washington County to prepare a comprehensive plan, several local governments agreed to participate in the planning process by attending a series of regular intergovernmental meetings to discuss countywide issues of mutual concern. In addition, the Villages of Germantown, Newburg, and Slinger and the Town of Richfield acknowledged, through adoption of a resolution, that it is in their best interest to participate in the intergovernmental meetings for the general purpose of accomplishing coordinated, adjusted, and harmonious development within Washington County. The Village of Jackson and Town of Jackson also agreed to participate in intergovernmental meetings. The Village of Newburg, which is located partially in Ozaukee County, partnered with Ozaukee County in applying for a grant to prepare its local comprehensive plan, but also participated in the development of the Washington County plan by serving on the plan Advisory Committee. Local governments that are not full partners, but who have agreed to cooperate in the planning process, are designated as “supporting local governments” on Map 1.